Alessandra Ravida of Dublin Institute of Design wins 2016 Grand Prix at GDA

Details of the 2017 Graduate Design Awards competition will be announced in the Spring 2017. Our GDA Competition 2016 is over.. the prizes have been awarded and Alessandra Ravida of the Dublin Institute of Design was chosen as The Grand Prix Winner 2016

The IDI Graduate Design Award winners were announced at a ceremony on Thursday November 10th at NCAD, Dublin.

The prizegiving was held at the NCAD Gallery on Nov 10th from 6pm - with a reception from 5pm

The Overall Grand Prix winner was Alessandra Ravida is a recent graduate of Dublin Institute of Design. Her college, DID was delighted with her success.

Sam Russell of NCAD presided over the event and George Boyle President of IDI made the presentations. Awards were made in a wide range of categories from Animation and Architecture to Viz Comm and Product and from to Fashion and Textiles to Universal Design and UX.

The exhibition of all the Shortlisted Finalists will run at the NCAD Gallery from 11th November every day for one week

Well done to Alessandra Ravida of Dublin Institute of Design and to all who made the IDI Graduate Design Award shortlist 2016


Alessandra Ravida of Dublin Institute of Design - Femmina - WINNER IDI GRAND PRIX AWARD


Jack Bowler Limerick School of Art and Design Rebranding Ireland WINNER Animation and Motion Design

Alibhe Keane The National College of Art and Design Izzy Wheels Animation HIghly Commended Animation and Motion Design
Patrick Horan LIT Limerick School of Art & Design RSA/Debra Kidd: Towards an Educational (R)evolution HIghly Commended - Animation and Motion Design

Bryan Hoey   University of Limerick Flight of Settlement WINNER Architecture
Emma O'Neill University College Cork Athens HC - Architecture
Deirdre Power CIT (CCAE) Movement of Squares : Spaces of Dissent HC Architecture

Eulich McGeown NCAD, 761: A virtual typographic experience of the Anne Frank Diary  WINNER Digital Design - UX Design

Stephanie Schmidt DIT “Recharge Naturally” HC Exhibition Design/ Visual Merchandising
Ross Phelan IADT Civil War: Conflict of Brothers WINNER Exhibition Design/ Visual Merchandising

Avril Roche Limerick School of Art and Design Outline WINNER Fashion Design
Conaill O'Dwyer National College of Art and Design Default Man HC Fashion Design

Paula Maria Czajkowska DIT D Hotel HC Interior Design/Interior Architecture
Mitchell Banks Dublin Institute of Technology X Airlines WINNER Interior Design/Interior Architecture
Tony Yuen Dublin Institute of Technology Huguenot House HC Interior Design/Interior Architecture

Kristina Malantsuk Cork Institute of Technology Bonded Warehouse WINNER OVE ARUP  Award
Daniel Morgan Eoin Bracken,  Dublin Institute of Technology CharCo HC OVE ARUP  Award

Brendan Mc Garry GMIT Letterfrack Ch.53 HC Product Design - Furniture
Catherine Grogan National College of Art and Design frank. WINNER Product Design - Furniture
Sarah Twaddell National College of Art and Design FIKA HC Product Design - Furniture

Anaïs Subrero National College of Art and Design Objects of Time HC Product Design - Industrial Products
Sarah Twaddell and Megan Sands National College of Art and Design Positie Future+ WINNER Product Design - Industrial 

John Alexander Godfrey NCAD How Much Would You Pay to be Clean for a Month? WINNER Product Design - Social Products

Stephen Burke CIT/UCC - CCAE Passive Pond Facade WINNER Sustainable Design
Stephen Walsh Dublin Institute of Technology Food Safety Sensor - The real-time use-by date HC Sustainable Design

Hien Cao GMIT Art Immune WINNER Textiles

Ross Dowd NCAD Sonear WINNER Universal Design
Diarmuid Mulligan National College of Art & Design Easy Grow HC Universal Design

Jade Yeats National College of Art and Design Buddy WINNER UX/UI

Alessandra Ravida Dublin Institute of Design Parallax HC VIZ Comm - Book

Alexandra Morehead National College of Art & Design Little Boy HC VIZ Comm - Book
Ross Phelan IADT Karōshi: Japan's Corporate Warriors WINNER VIZ Comm - Book

Euan Murphy Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology (IADT) Divvy – sharing chores happily WINNER Viz Comm - Digital

Dalian Rynne Julie McMorrow,  Limerick School of Art and Design Make LSAD WINNER Viz Comm - Identity Branding

Grace Murray Cork Institute of Technology Alice in Wonderland WINNER Viz Comm - Illustration
Mark O'Sullivan Cork Institute of Technology Cumhacht Playing Cards HC Viz Comm - Illustration

David Hussey IADT Seaweed: Crop of the Future WINNER Viz Comm - Social

Hannah Kelly Dublin Institute of Technology Einstein on the Beach HC Viz Comm - Typography
Alessandra Ravida Dublin Institute of Design Femmina WINNER Viz Comm - Typography
Jamie Smyth National College of Art and Design A0110.sfn HC Viz Comm - Typography



Previous Winners

View the 2015 award winners →


ARUP     NCAD Gallery 

We are happy to announce the great support of The Arup Trust, who have come on board again this year and who will again present the Ove Arup Award.

IDI is delighted to announce that The National College of Art and Design will host the IDI Graduate Design Awards 2016 ceremony and exhibition 2016 in November.

Stay Updated

For information on the 2016 awards programme as soon it is announced, sign up for the IDI newsletter or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.