Introducing the IDI Graduate Awards Judges

Introducing the IDI Graduate Awards Judges

The IDI Graduate Awards 2023 has now closed for entries and another year of adjudicating is almost complete, thanks to our phenomenal panel of judges across all categories. 

A huge thank you to everyone who has submitted an entry. The judging is almost complete, and the shortlist will be announced soon. 

A special thanks also to IDI Graduate Awards Co-chair Ben Readman, Lecturer at TU Dublin, joined this year by Co-Chair, Dr. Brian Dixon, Belfast School of Art.

Introducing our new IDI Graduate Awards Co-Chair Dr. Brian Dixon

Brian is Belfast School of Art’s Research Director for Art & Design, and Course Director for the MA in UX and Service Design. His broad range of experience from teaching at Glasgow School of Art, and completing his PhD in Central Saint Martins has led him to multifaceted interests and expertise from design philosophy, to the potential role of design in policy-making and community-based decision making. 

As a Senior Fellow of the HEA, author and peer reviewer for many key research publications, we are excited to see Brian’s impact on our #IDIGraduateAwards2023 as we look for the graduates across the country that are #LeadingDesign at a global standard. 

Brian joins our existing Chair Ben Readman, Lecturer at TU Dublin who has held the reins for the past 3 years.


We are also delighted to announce that Brian will be our host for the 2023 Ceremony at the Belfast School of Art on October 19th.


Our 2023 IDI Graduate Judges 

We would also like to say a big thank you to our judges for volunteering their time and expertise over the past few weeks to find the rising stars in Irish design. 


  • Jenny O'Brien 
  • Fergal Brennan
  • Sarah Dargie 
  • Henry Melki    
  • Angus Black 
  • Saul Golden    
Interior Design / Interior Architecture - Commercial/Residential        
Interior Design / Interior Architecture - Public        
  • Agnes Rojowska     
  • Sue Corcoran 
  • Linda McNally    
Interaction Design        
  • Danielle O’Connell 
  • Fergal Adams         
  • Holly Brennan    
  • Dr. Hilary Kenna
Visual Merchandising        
  • Kerry Meakin 
  • Anne Marie McAuley     
  • Monica Gumbrielle     
  • Simon Cummins     
Fashion Design        
Sustainable Fashion & Textiles        
  • Lorraine Egan 
  • Peter O’Brien 
  • Monica Gumbrielle     
Craft Design        
  • Emer Roberts 
  • Dominic Southgate 
  • Shane Holland
Design Research - By Practice 
  • Clyde Doyle
  • Clare Bell     
  • Brian Dixon     
  • PJ White
  • Cara Broadley
  • Marianne McAra    
Design Research - Written        
  • Mary Anne Bolger     
  • Ann Wilson     
  • Glen O'Sullivan     
  • Aoife Dorney     
  • Nina Holmes    
  • Joseph McBrinn 
  • Gianna Tomasso    
  • Gwen Lettis    
  • Kate Buckley 
Furniture Design        
  • Dominic Southgate 
  • Adrian Duyn 
  • Dominic Logan    
Product Design (industrial/consumer)        
  • Dominic Southgate 
  • Martin McGinn
  • Derek McGarry     
Medical Device Design        
  • Dominic Southgate 
  • Justin Magee        
  • Sinead O'Connor   
Moving Image / Film        
  • Daniel Fitzpatrick  
  • Steve McDevitt    

Design for sustainability         
  • Adam deEyto     
  • Benjamin Readman 
  • Kaethe Burt O'Dea    
  • John Thorne    
Use Of Visualisation In Design        
  • Peter Evers
  • Terry Quigley    
  • Colm O'Neill
Brand Identity        
  • Glenn Bolton     
  • Paul Mc Bride 
  • Kasia Ozmin    
  • Paul Mc Bride     
Design For Digital        
  • Holly Brennan        
  • Daniel Philpott     
  • Danielle Townsend  
  • Benjamin Readman 
  • Merlin Evans
  • Steve Doogan     
Design Collaboration         
  • Philip Kennedy    
  • Danielle Townsend      
  • Charlotte Barker     
Book Design        
  • Peter Maybury 
  • David Donohoe  
  • John Paul Dowling     
  • Keith Byrne           
Design For Print (Other Than Books)        
  • Philip Kennedy    
  • Dave Garavin         
  • Steven Averill     
  • Jack Collins     
Typographic Design        
  • Gerard Fox         
  • Emma Conway 
  • Jill Spratt    
Universal Design         
  • Elizabeth O’Meara
  • James Hubbard
  • Ruth O’Reilly
  • Ben Adamson
  • Donal Fitzpatrick
Design for Change        
  • Mary Doherty
  • Ben Readman
  • Brian Dixon     


Stay tuned for more updates over the coming weeks for the shortlist announcement and ceremony details! Good luck to all our talented graduate designers.